1. Didja accidentally blow through the whole, "We're using our real names" thing on registration? No problem, just send me (Mike) a Conversation message and I'll get you sorted, by which I mean hammered-into-obedient-line because I'm SO about having a lot of individuality-destroying, oppressive shit all over my forum.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. You're only as good as the harshest criticism you're willing to hear.
    Dismiss Notice

Transcribing Total Annihilation - Attack!

Discussion in 'Score Study Resources' started by Dmitry Egorov, Mar 10, 2020.

1. Hey guys!

For the longest time I'm trying to transcribe this piece:

I'm not very experienced in transcribing orchestral music, and there's no score available, so I thought maybe someone from this wonderful community can help me out.

I'm trying to figure out the opening line instrumentation. It's definitely horns, but I wonder if they are split divisi and half of them don't play the higher notes, and let the lower ones ring out, and the other half do the smooth legato/rip to the higher note? Or maybe there's another instrument doubling on the lower notes? Doesn't seem like trombones, as they are introduced in the second half of the line, and they don't sound that smooth anyway. Or maybe I'm overthinking it, and the horns just play unison, and it's the room reverb ringing out on the lower notes?

Anyway, I've been trying to mock up this line, and can't get it to sound close. Maybe it's just the limitation of the vst instruments. If someone knows how to do it -- would love to hear your advice.