1. Didja accidentally blow through the whole, "We're using our real names" thing on registration? No problem, just send me (Mike) a Conversation message and I'll get you sorted, by which I mean hammered-into-obedient-line because I'm SO about having a lot of individuality-destroying, oppressive shit all over my forum.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. You're only as good as the harshest criticism you're willing to hear.
    Dismiss Notice

Things I can transcribe that aren't...?

Discussion in 'Score Study Resources' started by David Robson, Nov 27, 2018.

1. a.) insanely complex to the untrained ear
    b.) over 100 years old

I've been transcribing every day for almost two years now and I still find myself getting overwhelmed and not progressing the way I'd like to. The Williams pieces I try to transcribe are either too complex musically for me to fully comprehend or (in the case of the entire Force Awakens score) seem to have been drastically re-orchestrated for the live stage, which tarnishes its accuracy to the recording.

So much film music nowadays seems very simple harmonically, and this is where I want to start. Are there any easy go-to's I can start with, like Barber's Adagio for Strings or Beethoven's Moonlight Sonata, where I can clearly follow what is going on both in a musical and orchestrational sense?

2. You should start with pop tunes to get you started, however, if you want to do film scores I would suggest some of the John Barry scores. Out of Africa and Born Free are pretty simple harmonically, but there's other stuff going on underneath - then you could go onto some of the Bond scores from the 60's where there's a bit more complexity harmonically.

Rohann van Rensburg likes this.
  3. Try themes to TV shows. You can adjust to your preferences and difficulty level.

Or do a simpler film score like requiem for a dream etc.