1. Didja accidentally blow through the whole, "We're using our real names" thing on registration? No problem, just send me (Mike) a Conversation message and I'll get you sorted, by which I mean hammered-into-obedient-line because I'm SO about having a lot of individuality-destroying, oppressive shit all over my forum.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. You're only as good as the harshest criticism you're willing to hear.
    Dismiss Notice

Taking the Plunge

Discussion in 'Critique & Feedback' started by Collin Carr, Apr 17, 2020.

1. Hi everyone,

I've lurked these forums for quite a while but I figured I would finally take the plunge and post something. I've been using my social distancing time to finally try and write/produce some music. I have a solid background in theory but am a real neophyte when it comes to actually composing, so I'm looking for honest feedback and criticism so I can improve my skills. I'm an amateur, but in the true sense of the word - I love music and hope to be able to make my own at the highest level I can.

That being said, the first piece I'm actually comfortable sharing has kind of an Opening Credits feel, like something for an fantasy/adventure movie I guess. It's short because I don't have a good feel for form yet, and I'm sure the orchestration is pretty hamfisted, but that's why I'm asking for feedback! So, without further ado, please let me know what you think:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/earsvl0n5of0mhr/Title.wav?dl=0

Sylvain Provenzano likes this.
  2. If you've been lurking a while, you know that before even listening to this, I would recommend you present the two handed simple piano version. That's the truest, most revealing and most useful form for this to take.

Rohann van Rensburg likes this.
  3. The biggest problem - my opinion as a listener - is that you start with cadence after cadence after cadence.