1. Didja accidentally blow through the whole, "We're using our real names" thing on registration? No problem, just send me (Mike) a Conversation message and I'll get you sorted, by which I mean hammered-into-obedient-line because I'm SO about having a lot of individuality-destroying, oppressive shit all over my forum.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Happy 2018, Everybody! Thanks for making Redbanned such a cool, helpful, and inviting place. Here's to another great year!
    Dismiss Notice

Snipper & Snapper (Big band template test)

Discussion in 'Tips, Tricks & Talk' started by Haakon Davidsen, Aug 17, 2018.

1. #1 Haakon Davidsen, Aug 17, 2018
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2018
    Hi!
    (I´ve posted this on VI-Control as well)

I started working on a new big band/jazz template, and wrote a short piece trying to set it up. This is my first attempt to write for standard big band ensemble, so I would love to get some feedback on both mixing and orchestration.

Everything is from Project Sams Swing and Swing More. Had a really hard time using the clarinet from Swing More, so I ended up using the clarinet from Cinewinds Core.

Paul T McGraw and Aaron Venture like this.
  2. Hey,

The link's not showing, but it's on your SoundCloud. Anyway, sounds cool! For such a short snippet, orchestration sounds fine to me. My big band credentials are non-existent, so someone else might chime in with quality advice.

The mix balancing is good. I don't own the Project Sam libraries so I can't really speak as to how they're internally balanced, but this sounds pretty good, whether it's you or the libraries :D The clarinet does jump out a bit; a little bit too full-sounding, even more so than the brass. Take off a few dB in its lower mids.