1. Didja accidentally blow through the whole, "We're using our real names" thing on registration? No problem, just send me (Mike) a Conversation message and I'll get you sorted, by which I mean hammered-into-obedient-line because I'm SO about having a lot of individuality-destroying, oppressive shit all over my forum.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. You're only as good as the harshest criticism you're willing to hear.
    Dismiss Notice

Crossing the Event Horizon Theme

Discussion in 'Critique & Feedback' started by Duncan Formosa, Dec 29, 2019.

1. #1 Duncan Formosa, Dec 29, 2019
    Last edited: Mar 17, 2020
    [EDIT]

After months of trying to get any free time to work on this piece, I've finally got to a point where I think I've made some progress. It's not quite finished yet, still think that there are a few things missing that I'm trying to figure out, but I'd love to hear some opinions. Hopefully it's starting to show some potential!

Hi All,

So I'm very new to writing music for film (I'm a film and TV editor full time) and I'm trying to get into scoring music whenever I have time.

Here is a piece I wrote a few years ago for my college film (It's one of the few pieces I've had time to finish.) I would love to hear what you all think in terms of melody, structure etc and how the orchestration could be improved.

Thanks!
    Duncan

2. Hey Duncan,

Welcome to this forum!

I am just a beginner, so please take my advice with a grain of salt. There are a lot of people here which can give you way better advice than I can.

But here it goes:
    Overall everything in your piece is loud and epic from the beginning. Try next time to build to epicness with contrast.
    At 0:13, when you repeat your initial idea I feel like it should change in some way, since the basic idea is so simple. You are basically repeating the idea with different chords 4 times before. For me it feels like we are ready for some slight alterations after the first 4 bars.