1. Didja accidentally blow through the whole, "We're using our real names" thing on registration? No problem, just send me (Mike) a Conversation message and I'll get you sorted, by which I mean hammered-into-obedient-line because I'm SO about having a lot of individuality-destroying, oppressive shit all over my forum.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. Discussion areas for the individual classes are unlocked for all users. Let's see if this makes it any more useful. If not, we'll drop this or organize under a single banner to save space and lean things out.
    Dismiss Notice

Choral composition (with live recording!)

Discussion in 'Critique & Feedback' started by Francesco Bortolussi, Jun 23, 2019.

1. Hello everyone! Yesterday I finally performed this choral piece I wrote back in February with my chamber choir - it was really cool, the audience received very well, I got flowers and everything, and I felt like I'm a real composer :D

I was able to record the dress rehearsal by quickly putting a couple of mic in the church we performed in. Unfortunately, due to people being sick etc, the sections were somewhat underrepresented, having about 3 people per section. Because of this and because of other external factors, we had some intonation issues. Also, the tenor and the bass sections were farther away from the mic, making the recording very "female-biased" (they sang beautifully, but I could've made a more balanced recording). Also, if you hear a tenor fucking up, that's probably me, as I'm the weakest link in the choir. Finally, there are some notation issues I manually fixed that are still in the score (but nothing too big).

Enough excuses, I'd love to hear your criticism! It was an experiment for me, as it's my first work for a choir.

Score: https://www.dropbox.com/s/2fw3s2ese1esv07/Francesco Bortolussi - Glory Oh Lord Savior.pdf?dl=0

2. Thoroughly enjoyed this, Francesco. A great way to start my morning. Congratulations on the performance.