1. Didja accidentally blow through the whole, "We're using our real names" thing on registration? No problem, just send me (Mike) a Conversation message and I'll get you sorted, by which I mean hammered-into-obedient-line because I'm SO about having a lot of individuality-destroying, oppressive shit all over my forum.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. You're only as good as the harshest criticism you're willing to hear.
    Dismiss Notice

An Orchestral Theme for Cersei

Discussion in 'Critique & Feedback' started by Brian Ellis, Jul 31, 2019.

1. Hey guys, I'm new to Redbanned and would like your opinion on this orchestral piece I composed for Cersei Lannister of Game of Thrones. I would like to know if the theme captures the emotions and the essence of her character. I'm interested to hear any emotions you feel while listening or problems/areas that can be fixed. The piece was composed through Sibelius, and performed through NotePerformer. I have attached the PDF of the score, if you guys want to read and follow along or look at a specific point in the music.
    Thanks!

Attached Files:

Paul T McGraw and Dillon DeRosa like this.
  2. Hi Brian

Nice to hear your music.

I've actually never seen a single episode so I can't say.

What I can offer an opinion on is that this work seems to have both feet in the concert music world.
    (perhaps it's intended that way, and is an "inspired by" stand alone work, rather than "music for" the show)

I recall, back in the day, putting together films for a lecture class I was teaching. Watching 5 minutes of the original Robin Hood with Korngold's score,
    and then contrast with 5 minutes of Black Hawk Down. There is so much foli/ sound design these days that feel would cover up sections of your piece,
    if you were actually composing this to be for the show.

Well, I have good news and less than good news for you.