1. Didja accidentally blow through the whole, "We're using our real names" thing on registration? No problem, just send me (Mike) a Conversation message and I'll get you sorted, by which I mean hammered-into-obedient-line because I'm SO about having a lot of individuality-destroying, oppressive shit all over my forum.
    Dismiss Notice
  2. You're only as good as the harshest criticism you're willing to hear.
    Dismiss Notice

Short Motive development

Discussion in 'Critique & Feedback' started by JP Beveraggi, Mar 30, 2019.

1. Hello there,

This is my first attempt at a multi section piece around a short motive.

Any suggestions or constructive comments on any aspects apart from the individual instruments rendering (I am already working on these French Horns) would be greatly appreciated.

Cheers,

JP

2. Nice work !

Keeps on getting better and better. So, bravo !

My first, and main question is: Which is the "main" motive you want us to latch onto ?

I think, and this hard to convey in writing, all the elements to make a really good piece are there, and mostly lined up in order.
    What you make us focus on and for how long is the biggest issue. Once that is reconsidered, then step 2 would be making variations on the
    individual motives.

Is this only one motive ? I think there are more.

I like the opening motif very much. With the melody, he horns lacks rhythmic vitality, and drags the piece.

Integrate the character of your melody and accompaniment more. Like this piece:

So just because it's a horn does not mean it has to be all soccer balls.

Personally, I think you are attempting to take us thru a range of emotions. So it's about how the motif transforms over time (like Beethoven 5th)
    As opposed to one idea, one emotion type piece.

either is do-able here. If the later, and if the opening accompaniment is really important with long sustaining horns then you can look at a piece like